Pro-Israel group buys ChuckHagel.com to fight Hagel’s nomination


dailydot.com

It shouldn’t surprise anyone that when rumors swirled that President Obama would nominate Chuck Hagel to be the next Secretary of Defense, as he did Monday,more people searched for Hagel’s name than on any day in history. As you would expect, the first few pages of Google results are mostly news articles on the Republican former senator.

But anyone who took the trouble to type out www.chuckhagel.com found a very different story.

That’s because the Emergency Committee for Israel (ECI), which strongly opposes Hagel’s nomination, bought the domain name to highlight their grievances with him. Examples of their criticism, like his use of the phrase “Jewish lobby” in 2007 to describe Israeli influence in the U.S. Congress, are splayed across the page.

According to Domain Tools, the site’s current owners—presumably the ECI, which didn’t return request for clarification—bought the ChuckHagel.com domain name in July 2012, and have it registered for another 18 months. It’s unclear what the site looked like immediately after the ECI bought it, though according to saved pages on Archive.org, for years, the site simply offered a white background with the words “ChuckHagel.com” in large red letters. The current, sleek anti-Hagel version of the site was last updated Wednesday.

Cybersquatting, or buying a domain name clearly associated with a trademark in order to resell it for a profit, is illegal. But in politics, identify squatting, or using someone else’s name as a URL for personal or professional gain, is common. In September, the nonprofit group Coalition Against Domain Name abuse found that more than a quarter of Congress had been targeted by domain squatters.

The ECI has a history of accusations of misleading the public. Its three board members, including Weekly Standard founder William Kristol, are all American citizens.

Hagel must pass a Senate confirmation hearing before starting the job.

“I fully recognize that confirmation is up to the Senate. All I ask is a fair hearing, and I will get that. I am very much looking forward to having a full, open, transparent hearing about my qualifications and my record,” Hagel told the Lincoln Journal-Star Monday,

  1. #1 by persnipoles on January 9, 2013 - 5:11 pm

    “Leonie Industries” did something like that to a pair of USA Today reporters that covered them… Kelly Vlahos did a write-up where the question came out of it what justified people of that ‘caliber’ raking in hundreds of millions of Pentagon money. Well, what usually or typically allows dirtbags to get Federal money? …now who’s buying a domain under Chuck’s name?

  2. #2 by pete on January 9, 2013 - 6:36 pm

    It would be great to see a Chuck Hagel as sec of defense rather than these draft dodgeing chicken hawks who have hid behind desks when others have been dying. Those such as mcnamara, cheney, rumsfeld, Why do they allways choose some civilian who has never served a day in the military to tell our soldiers how noble it is to die for their country. Let them send their sons and their would be a lot less war. Even if the senate does not approve him the president should say Go pond salt in your ass I am the president and what I say goes so screw you.

  3. #3 by annebeck58 on January 9, 2013 - 6:52 pm

    They do this all the time!
    I’ve had it done to me– sites made-up with my name or my address, channels in youtoob and other places, with my name (though never the name I actually use), just to harass me. I know they’ve done the same with others, here, too.
    I know, in my case (and those of friends), these tools spread rumors that I was a terrorist. When that didn’t fly, they then said I was a Zionist Jew, and some (idiots) people actually believed it.

    This is what they spend their days doing; harassing and rumor-mongering. Sometimes I think they are best ignored, as they do most of this to get a rise out of us. There are other times when their idiocy needs to be addressed, and this may be one of those cases.

    What jerks.

  4. #4 by Matthew/Boston on January 9, 2013 - 9:41 pm

    I’ll bet Chuck Hagel and his entourage have kicked themselves in the butt by not buying or renewing that particular domain name.

    The lying Jewish control freaks at ECI use large bold type throughout their anti-Hagel site.

    I linked into Emergency Committee for Israel. They have critical remarks in the comments area of their Board members page. I’m a little surprised to see this. Maybe they hope it shows the eternal “anti-Semitism”.

    I did an internet search of pro-Israel groups and found this site which lists the many Zionist groups with a brief description. A good site that gets right down to the nuts and bolts.

    http://www.councilforthenationalinterest.org/israellobby/israellobby

  5. #5 by isaac on January 9, 2013 - 11:29 pm

    Those Zionist are dangerous. They make phony and nasty phone calls, they send some one to visit you and harass you or get threatening mail or threatening calls.

  6. #6 by bigcree1Shadowhawk on January 10, 2013 - 1:32 am

    “I fully recognize that confirmation is up to the Senate. All I ask is a fair hearing, and I will get that. I am very much looking forward to having a full, open, transparent hearing about my qualifications and my record,” Hagel told the Lincoln Journal-Star Monday,’

    Yeah sure Chuck! And when you’re finished with your Kosher vetting by the Senate from Tel Aviv, I have some really rich beachfront property for you in Arizona.

  7. #7 by isaac on January 10, 2013 - 3:34 pm

    All of those politicians are like prostitutes, they sell themselves to the best buyer. They all have to pledge allegiance to APE-PAC before they even think of running for office.

  8. #8 by annebeck58 on January 10, 2013 - 4:22 pm

    I’d say, ALMOST all, Isaac.
    There has been a push, within an albeit small group within Congress, to stop signing on with the Bastard-state. This is, after all, the United States of America. And we are making some (well, a few) inroads.
    I think the younger Paul has probably signed on with them, as disappointing as this is to some in this country. Personally, nothing about Rand has surprised me.. But, I’d bet his father never did make such a pact. That would, in part, be what earned him the moniker, “Dr No”/ It’s why he was so blatantly ignored by “US press”, also owned by you-know-who. It’s why he could never be our president.

    Ape Pac.. I thought I was the only one to use this term when referring to the gorillas from IZ. Ha. Thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,269 other followers

